Various Artists - How The River Ganges Flows

Availability: In stock (1)

How The River Ganges Flows is a transcendent collection of Carnatic violin performances captured on 78 rpm disc between 1933 and 1952. Most of these sublime recordings have not been heard since they were first etched in shellac decades ago.

These melodies are ethereal and transporting: meditative. The rhythms undulate from despair to ecstasy, often within the same phrase. Remastered from the collection of Christopher King along with a set of deep notes, this music is unlike anything you’ve ever experienced.


Compiled by record collector and archivist Christopher King (Why The

Mountains Are Black, Alexis Zoumbas)

Artwork by R. Crumb




1. Raga Ahir Bhairi - Paritosh Seal

2. Raga Thodi - Gajanan Madhav Karnad

3. Nagumomu Ganale Pt 1 Raga Aberi - Muthi

and Mani

4. Manamuletha Raga Hamir Kalyani - Mysore


5. Raga Darbari Kanada - Paritosh Seal

6. Raga Sur Malhar - Paritosh Seal

7. Ragamalika Ragam Thanam Pt 1 - Dwaram

Venkatswamy Naidu


8. Ragamilka Ragam Thanam Pt 2 - Dwaram

Venkatswamy Naidu

9. Raga Tilak Kamo - Gajanan Madhav Karnad

10. Nagumomu Ganale Pt 2 Raga Aberi - Muthi

and Mani

11. Ikanainana Raga Manirang - Mysore


12. Raga Bageshree - Paritosh Seal

13. Thumri - Paritosh Seal

14. Raga Adana - Paritosh Seal

0 stars based on 0 reviews